About Us

The Northeastern Connecticut Council of Governments (NECCOG), founded in 1987, is a voluntary, statutorily authorized association of local chief-elected officials representing twelve municipalities in northeastern Connecticut. The members towns are: Ashford, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Eastford, Killingly, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Sterling, Thompson, Union, and Woodstock.

As a continuing association of local governments without taxing power, NECCOG functions primarily as a service and advisory body and catalyst for joint and regional action – it is not another level government. Towns are able to be members in NECCOG while not always participating in every NECCOG project or service. Our services and programs are varied – ranging from one-on-one assistance to full regional initiatives. The fundamental strength of NECCOG is that it is driven by its member chief-elected officials – who in turn are accountable to their town citizenry that elected them.

NECCOG meets the fourth Friday of each month, 8:00 a.m. at 125 Putnam Pike, Dayville.